Event Receiver VS Workflow

From my previous article to build SharePoint list event receiver and custom workflow in SharePoint Designer, I start questioning myself …

Which one to use based on business requirement?

I found good msdn article to explain it in more detail, so you could read there. In summary:

EventReceiverVSWorkflow

Event Receiver:

  • Can only be created in Microsoft Visual Studio.
  • Can be executed post or prior the event.
  • Support varieties different events include delete.

Workflow:

  • Can be created in SharePoint Designer, Microsoft Office Visio and Microsoft Visual Studio.
  • Can only be executed post the event.
  • Support manual started, item created and item updated.

What happen if I deployed both of them?

I’ve updated the workflow and event receiver solution from my previous article to concatenate the Report Comment column and I could see Workflow run first.

ProjectReports

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

