SharePoint Calculated URL Column

I would like to share my experience in creating Custom Calculated URL column. My objective is to construct a URL from custom calculated column. Hopefully this might save some time for others cause I’ve spent a bit of time to Google it and found this article, but unfortunately it does not work in SharePoint 2010 and 2013.

While trying some silly thing, I ends up making it work and I should also reported it to Microsoft (because it looks like a bug). For now, I wouldn’t bother and as long as it works … =)

Solution

  1. Create a SharePoint list that looks like below:
    CalcultatedURL1
  2. Create calculated column for URL. I would like to add calculate URL column “CaseURL” that has formula  “http://site/web/Pages/Case.aspx?caseno=[CaseNo]“. So, users can click the link and go to Case.aspx page with URL parameter passed. Instead of selecting “Single line of Text” as the data type returned from this formula, try to select “Number” or “Currency” or “Date and Time“. Then click OK to create the column.
    CalcultatedURL2
  3. Done and we can test it.
    CalcultatedURL3
    CalcultatedURL4
Tagged: , , ,

5 thoughts on “SharePoint Calculated URL Column

  1. Cass (@geo_cass) 03/18/2014 at 8:20 AM Reply

    Very useful, thank you. I was trying to work out what you had actually changed to make the link work and then I realised all you needed to do was return the data type as a number rather than a single line of text. Thanks! That solved my problem in 2013. 🙂

  2. Dan Sanders 06/06/2016 at 5:40 PM Reply

    Thanks.

  3. Thanks for sharing this. Is there a way to make it work when I have the “URL” in one column and the “Display Text” in another? In Excel I would use the HYPERLINK function but can’t figure it our in SharePoint. Suggestions would be appreciated.

    • tjenho 10/28/2016 at 8:21 AM Reply

      On step 2, you could select another field for the description inside the element.

Leave a Reply

